SPACESPACESPA May 30, 2003 - 3:05 p.m. my time

Profile
MESSAGE BOARD
sign my
E-mail me
Soapbox
Kick-Ass Links
How To Make Sure Your Stay In Florence Doesn't Suck
Last updated 5/18
Old Shit
New Shit

SUBSCRIBE, DAMMIT!

If you're a mother,
if you have three thumbs,
if you're uncircumcised,
if you lament the break-up of the Neo-Futurists,
buy Ayun's book!



It's a noun
It's a verb
It's a magazine.

SPpeople duped into visiting my page

Ris

Yesterday was my birthday and I ate myself retarded.

My partner (who does not want to be referred to as Ris-boy anymore because it's sexist) and I went out to a fancy-shmancy restaurant known for fish. We decided to do the seven-course tasting menu, which was in-fucking-credible, but nearly killed us. I still can't believe we were able to walk out of the place. Luckily, we live two blocks from the restaurant, so we didn't have far to waddle. We smoked a joint and my partner rubbed my belly until I fell asleep.

Ok, this is ridiculous, I can't keep calling him 'my partner'. It sounds like we should be a 40+ couple growing organic spelt in Vermont with a kid named Siddhartha who we home-school... not that there's anything wrong with that life, of course.

I'm having one of those days where I feel like no matter what I say, I'm insulting someone, but I'm so sick of all this political-correctness. Isn't it enough that my actions and intentions are socially conscious? If I use the adjective retarded it doesn't mean that I harbor ill will against the developmentally challenged. I know, I know, by using it in that way I'm perpetuating the stigma which shouldn't exist in the first place. But that's the beauty and complexity of language. Words bend and morph to take on new meanings and uses. For example, the words idiot, imbecile, and moron technically are different levels of mental deficiency, in other words, retardation. No one seems to think twice about using them in a derrogatory sense. Languages evolve.

There's been a backlash in humor over the past few years. We're so politically correct in our every-day lives that we look to shows like South Park to release that tension. But shit, if you were to ever repeat some of the things they say, even in a totally tongue-in-cheek way, people would be lining up to jump down your throat! It's ok on TV and in movies, but not in real life! Politically correct speech is just another form of control, which is the last thing we need in this day and age.

So, listen up you retarded homos, you better lighten the fuck up because I refuse to censor my colorful language for your fat asses!

previous - next


Ris 2003 - You steal from me, I hunt you down and torture you with a belt-sander.
HTML mediocrity... ahem, I mean, page-design done by Ris.

Tawk amongst y'selves...
TagBoard
and you are...?

URL or Email

type somethin' dammit!

(smilies)
Back to the Top


Camille fans, click on the question mark above, okay?! >

hosted by DiaryLand.com